Posting love to the States

photo (75)I stack postcards on my desk, already addressed to you. The fronts are prints of book covers published by Penguin. The covers are intentionally chosen. I stack postcards on my desk, collect lines from writers I wish to be. The postman carelessly covered part of a line with the stamp. It’s a Dahl quote. Please say you still get the meaning. It costs 88p to send a postcard that doesn’t leave much room for writing. I don’t sign them because I know you know it’s me. I fill red corner postboxes with cardstock bits of myself, sending all I can from here, for now. When I arrive I’ll stand next to the stack, just able to glance over the top. Will you see the resemblance of the me on the page and the tangible, fleshy me?

Leave a Reply

